Exodus 4:27-31

Key Verse(s):

Exodus 4:31 (HCSB)

31 The people believed, and when they heard that the Lord had paid attention to them and that He had seen their misery, they bowed down and worshiped.

Reflection/Application:

The main part of this passage is about Moses and Aaron being reunited, and the conveying of God’s message. And there is probably some cool stuff we could pull out of it to learn about following through, about teaching each other, about equipping ministers for ministry. But what strikes me is the last verse of chapter 4.

At first I thought Exodus 4:31 sounded like the Israelite worship of God was conditional, based upon them first hearing God was paying attention to them. But after reading it a few more times, I think I was backwards there, and what it is actually saying is that once they believed Moses and Aaron were who they claimed to be, prophets of God, and God had heard them, then their response was to worship God.

And here is what is cool: their situation hadn’t changed. Granted, they had an updated, and more specific plan for what was going to happen, but they were still enslaved. And notice that the passage doesn’t say they bowed and worshipped God because they were going to plunder the Egyptians, or gain a land of milk and honey, no, they bowed and worshipped because God heard them and paid attention to them!

As a dad I have noticed how sometimes just my reaction to my children can impact their attitude. If, when they ask for help, my reaction is silence, or indifference, they can be defeated. But if my reaction is to at least acknowledge their distress, even if it’s not something I can correct, their reaction is much different, much more positive. Shouldn’t this be our stance with God? We have the luxury of knowing that He always hears us, so shouldn’t we always be bowing and worshipping Him? It seems our prayers should be chased by our worship.

Prayer:

Lord, thank You for hearing us, for caring for us, and for paying attention to us. I pray that even when I call out to You for help, that I continue to worship You. Help me to be in constant prayer, never doubt Your attention, and always worship and glorify You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

